

Assembly of European Regions (AER) Scholarship Information Note for Students

What is the AER Scholarship?

The Assembly of European Regions is the independent organisation of the regions in wider Europe. Bringing together more than 260 regions from 33 countries and 14 interregional organisations, AER is the political voice of its members and a forum for interregional lobbying and co-operation. For further information on the AER, please see: www.aer.eu

The AER is offering one annual scholarship for a student from an AER member region to undertake a course of study at Masters degree level in a topic related to regional democracy. The scholarship will cover tuition fees and living costs for a one-year course at a university in another AER member region in a foreign country. A list of AER Member regions can be found in Annex 1.

The scholarship is available for a 1-year full-time Masters-level course, which is properly accredited by a recognised university, in any topic relating to the work of the AER. Eligible courses include: Regional Studies, Public Management, International Relations, European Studies and Politics. These are just examples; any course which has a regional aspect may be considered as eligible. In the case of general degrees such as Politics or European Studies, the student will be required to write their Masters thesis on a regional aspect of the topic. The AER scholarship can be used in any department where the organisation is satisfied that adequate supervision for a thesis on regional issues exist. This is most likely to be those departments in which substantial research on regional issues has already been undertaken, and in which a specialisation on these issues has already been established.

Who can apply?

Eligible applicants must be registered to vote in an AER member region. The AER would particularly welcome applications from candidates from (or going to) Central and Eastern European regions, ethnic minority and disabled candidates, as well as those from a socially disadvantaged background. The AER would also encourage applications from young people already working for a regional administration, who wish to improve their career prospects by undertaking a Masters Degree.

The scholarship is conditional on acceptance by the university department. If an offer of a place has been received by the time of application, this should be included. The successful candidate will in any case be asked to provide a copy of a letter of acceptance from their chosen institution before the award of a studentship can be confirmed and any funds dispensed.

What does the scholarship cover?

The scholarship is valid for one academic year and covers the following:

- up to €5.000 towards the cost of tuition fees
- a grant of €500 per month towards living costs, for a period of up to 12 months
- a return journey between the student's normal place of residence and the university, up to the value of €500
- visa costs, if relevant

The total maximum value of the scholarship is €11.500

How do I apply?

To apply please fill in the attached application form, and respond to the following essay question in a maximum of 1.000 words: What role can regions play in European integration?

All applications should be submitted in English. Applications must be submitted to the address stated by **31 March 2008**. Late applications will not be considered under any circumstances and no correspondence will be entered into. Students will be informed of the outcome of their applications by 15 June 2008.

The successful student will be required to give the AER a copy of their final thesis, and the AER will retain the right to publish it on its website and to use the material contained therein. The successful student will also be eligible to undertake an internship in the AER Secretariat in Strasbourg or Brussels.



Annex 1: AER Member Regions¹

BALGARIJA/BULGARIA (BG)

Ruse

BELGIQUE/BELGIE/BELGIUM (B)

Bruxelles-Capitale, Deutschsprachige Gemeinschaft, Wallonie

BOSNA I HERCEGOVINA/ BOSNIA HERZEGOVINA (BIH)

Bosna Podrinje, Herceg-Bosna, Hercegovina-Neretva, Sarajevo, Tuzla, Zapadna Hercegovina, Zenica-Doboj, Republika Srpska

CESKA REPUBLIKA/CZECH REPUBLIC (CZ)

Královéhradeck'y, Olomouc, Stredocesk'y

CYPRUS (CY)

Union of Cyprus Municipalities

DEUTSCHLAND/GERMANY (D)

Baden-Württemberg, Hessen, Niedersachsen

ELLAS/GREECE (GR)

Heraklion, Sterea Ellada

ESPAÑA/SPAIN (E)

Andalucia, Castilla y León, Catalunya, Galicia, Illes Balears, Valenciana (Comunitat)

FRANCE (F)

Alsace, Aquitaine, Auvergne, Bourgogne, Centre, Champagne-Ardenne, Corse, Franche-Comté, Guadeloupe, Guyane, Ile-de-France, Languedoc-Roussillon, Limousin, Martinique, Midi-Pyrénées, Picardie, Poitou-Charentes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur, Réunion (La), Rhône-Alpes

HRVATSKA/CROATIA (HR)

Brodsko-posavska, Dubrovnik-Neretva, Grad-Zagreb, Istra, Licko-Senska, Karlovac, Koprivnica-Krizevci, Krapina-Zagorje, Medimurje, Osijek-Baranya, Požega-Slavonija, Primorje-Gorski kotar, Slavonski Brod-Posavina, Split, Varazdin, Virovitica-Podravina, Zagreb County

IRELAND (IRL)

Donegal

ITALIA/ITALY (I)

Abruzzo, Basilicata, Bolzano (Provincia), Calabria, Campania, Friuli Venezia Giulia, Lazio, Liguria Lombardia, Marche, Molise, Piemonte, Sardegna, Sicilia, Toscana, Trentino-Alto Adige, Trento (Provincia), Umbria, Valle d'Aosta, Veneto

¹ Please check the AER website for an up to date list at the time of applying : http://www.a-e-r.org/about-aer/members/member-regions.html



-

LIETUVA/LITHUANIA (LT)

Alythus, Kaunas, Siauliai, Tauragé, Utena

MAGYARORSZAG/HUNGARY (H)

Bács-Kiskun, Baranya, Békés, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Fejér, Györ-Moson-Sopron, Hajdú-Bihar, Heves, Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok, Komárom-Esztergom, Nógrád, Pest, Somogy, Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg, Tolna, Vas, Veszprém

MOLDOVA (MD)

Cahul, Chisinau

NEDERLAND/NETHERLANDS (NL)

Flevoland, Limburg, Noord-Brabant

NORGE/NORWAY (N)

Akershus, Buskerud, Hedmark, Hordaland, Nordland, Oppland, Østfold, Telemark, Troms, Vestfold

ÖSTERREICH/AUSTRIA (A)

Burgenland, Kärnten, Niederösterreich, Oberösterreich, Salzburg, Steiermark, Tirol, Vorarlberg Wien

POLSKA/POLAND (PL)

Woj. Dolnoslaskie, Woj. Kujawsko-Pomorskie, Woj. Malopolskie, Woj. Mazowieckie, Woj. Slaskie, Woj. Wielkopolskie

PORTUGAL (P)

Açores, Madeira

ROMANIA (RO)

Alba, Arad, Arges, Bacau, Bihor, Bistrita-Nasaud, Botosani, Braila, Brasov, Calarasi, Caras-Severin, Cluj, Constanta, Covasna, Dambovita, Dolj, Galati, Gorj, Harghita, Hunedoara, Ialomita, Iasi, Ilfov, Maramures, Mehedinti, Mures, Neamt, Olt, Prahova, Salaj, Satu Mare, Sibiu, Teleorman, Timis, Tulcea, Valcea, Vaslui, Vrancea

ROSSIJA/RUSSIA (RUS)

Ingushetia, Karelija, Samara, Tatarstan

SAKARTVELO/GEORGIA (GEO)

Ajaria, Imereti, Shida Kartli

SCHWEIZ/SUISSE/SVIZZERA/SWITZERLAND (CH)

Aargau, Basel-Landschaft, Basel-Stadt, Bern, Fribourg, Genève, Graubünden, Jura, Luzern, Neuchâtel, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zürich, Zug

SHQIPËRIA/ALBANIA (AL)

Berat, Dibër, Durrës, Elbasan, Gjirokastër, Lezhë, Shkodër, Tiranë, Vlore

SLOVENSKO/SLOVENIA (SK)

Banská Bystrica, Kosice, Trencin, Trnava



SRBIJA/SERBIA(SRB)

Vojvodina

SUOMI/FINLAND (FIN)

Etelä-Karjala, Etelä-Pohjanmaa, Häme, Keski-Pohjanmaa, Keski-Suomi, Lappi, Pirkanmaa, Pohjois-Karjala, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa, Pohjois-Savo, Satakunta

SVERIGE/SWEDEN (S)

Dalarna, Gävleborg, Jämtland, Jönköping, Kronoberg, Norrbotten, Örebro, Sörmland, Uppsala, Värmland, Västerbotten, Västernorrland, Västmanland, Västra Götaland

TURKIYE/TURKEY (TR)

Istanbul, Kahramanmaras, Kocaeli, Kirsehir

UKRAJINA/UKRAINE (UA)

Donets'k, Kherson, Kirovograd, Kyjiv, L'Viv, Odessa

UNITED KINGDOM (GB)

Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Essex, Hampshire, Kent, Somerset, West Sussex

